This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perl5.git
11 years agoCorrect the File::DosGlob version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:52:41 +0000 (16:52 +0100)]
Correct the File::DosGlob version in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect the File::Find version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:52:01 +0000 (16:52 +0100)]
Correct the File::Find version in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Filter::Simple upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:51:37 +0000 (16:51 +0100)]
Note the Filter::Simple upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect the File::stat version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:50:20 +0000 (16:50 +0100)]
Correct the File::stat version in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect the Hash::Util version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:49:32 +0000 (16:49 +0100)]
Correct the Hash::Util version in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect the GDBM_File version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:48:55 +0000 (16:48 +0100)]
Correct the GDBM_File version in perldelta

11 years agoNote the I18N::Collate upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:48:18 +0000 (16:48 +0100)]
Note the I18N::Collate upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the I18N::LangTags upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:47:33 +0000 (16:47 +0100)]
Note the I18N::LangTags upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect the I18N::Langinfo version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:46:19 +0000 (16:46 +0100)]
Correct the I18N::Langinfo version in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect the IO::Select version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:45:30 +0000 (16:45 +0100)]
Correct the IO::Select version in perldelta

11 years agoNote the if upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:44:53 +0000 (16:44 +0100)]
Note the if upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the IO upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:44:18 +0000 (16:44 +0100)]
Note the IO upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect the IPC::Open3 version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:43:43 +0000 (16:43 +0100)]
Correct the IPC::Open3 version in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect the IPC::Cmd version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:43:02 +0000 (16:43 +0100)]
Correct the IPC::Cmd version in perldelta

11 years agoNote the IPC::SysV upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:42:02 +0000 (16:42 +0100)]
Note the IPC::SysV upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the lib upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:41:13 +0000 (16:41 +0100)]
Note the lib upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect the Local::Maketext version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:40:20 +0000 (16:40 +0100)]
Correct the Local::Maketext version in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Log::Message upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:40:10 +0000 (16:40 +0100)]
Note the Log::Message upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Log::Message::Simple upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:38:48 +0000 (16:38 +0100)]
Note the Log::Message::Simple upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Math::BigInt::FastCalc upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:37:46 +0000 (16:37 +0100)]
Note the Math::BigInt::FastCalc upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Math::BigRat upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:37:10 +0000 (16:37 +0100)]
Note the Math::BigRat upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Memoize upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:36:26 +0000 (16:36 +0100)]
Note the Memoize upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoThe next Module::CoreList version will be 2.47
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:35:33 +0000 (16:35 +0100)]
The next Module::CoreList version will be 2.47

11 years agoNote the Module::Load upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:34:35 +0000 (16:34 +0100)]
Note the Module::Load upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Module::Load::Conditional upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:33:56 +0000 (16:33 +0100)]
Note the Module::Load::Conditional upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Net::Ping upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:33:18 +0000 (16:33 +0100)]
Note the Net::Ping upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect the overload version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:32:43 +0000 (16:32 +0100)]
Correct the overload version in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect the POSIX version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:31:53 +0000 (16:31 +0100)]
Correct the POSIX version in perldelta

11 years agoNote the NEXT upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:31:16 +0000 (16:31 +0100)]
Note the NEXT upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoCorrent the ODBM_File version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:30:27 +0000 (16:30 +0100)]
Corrent the ODBM_File version in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Object::Accessor upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:29:55 +0000 (16:29 +0100)]
Note the Object::Accessor upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Params::Check upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:28:01 +0000 (16:28 +0100)]
Note the Params::Check upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the parent upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:19:13 +0000 (16:19 +0100)]
Note the parent upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Pod::LaTeX upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:18:23 +0000 (16:18 +0100)]
Note the Pod::LaTeX upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Pod::Perldoc upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:17:53 +0000 (16:17 +0100)]
Note the Pod::Perldoc upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Pod::Simple upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:16:49 +0000 (16:16 +0100)]
Note the Pod::Simple upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Term::ANSIColor upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:15:09 +0000 (16:15 +0100)]
Note the Term::ANSIColor upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Term::UI upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:14:59 +0000 (16:14 +0100)]
Note the Term::UI upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Test::Harness upgrade in perldelta.
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:13:11 +0000 (16:13 +0100)]
Note the Test::Harness upgrade in perldelta.

11 years agoNote the Threads::Queue upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:10:51 +0000 (16:10 +0100)]
Note the Threads::Queue upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the threads::shared upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:09:22 +0000 (16:09 +0100)]
Note the threads::shared upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the threads upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:09:12 +0000 (16:09 +0100)]
Note the threads upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Tie::RefHash upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:07:28 +0000 (16:07 +0100)]
Note the Tie::RefHash upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Time::HiRes upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:06:39 +0000 (16:06 +0100)]
Note the Time::HiRes upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Time::Local upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:06:21 +0000 (16:06 +0100)]
Note the Time::Local upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Time::Piece upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:04:21 +0000 (16:04 +0100)]
Note the Time::Piece upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoNote the Unicode::Normalize upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:03:17 +0000 (16:03 +0100)]
Note the Unicode::Normalize upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect warnings version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:59:38 +0000 (15:59 +0100)]
Correct warnings version in perldelta

11 years agoNote the XSLoader upgrade in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:58:19 +0000 (15:58 +0100)]
Note the XSLoader upgrade in perldelta

11 years agoCorrect Module::Metadata version in perldelta
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:54:27 +0000 (15:54 +0100)]
Correct Module::Metadata version in perldelta

11 years agoFix a perldelta nit
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:53:46 +0000 (15:53 +0100)]
Fix a perldelta nit

11 years agoAdd some sanity checking to corelist-perldelta.pl
Florian Ragwitz [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 14:20:07 +0000 (15:20 +0100)]
Add some sanity checking to corelist-perldelta.pl

It can now generate a diff between what's in perldelta and what's in
Module::CoreList for a given range of releases. It's not quite perfect yet, but
already useful.

11 years agoMake perldelta easier to parse
Florian Ragwitz [Tue, 22 Mar 2011 17:47:31 +0000 (18:47 +0100)]
Make perldelta easier to parse

Now that all module entries in perldelta look pretty much the same, parsing
those sections is much easier, allowing us to write tools automating things.

11 years agoMake the perldelta for 5.14.0 look like the template
Florian Ragwitz [Tue, 22 Mar 2011 17:31:43 +0000 (18:31 +0100)]
Make the perldelta for 5.14.0 look like the template

I want to write tests for perldelta - this is supposed to help with that as it
makes things easier to parse.

11 years agoRefactor corelist-perldelta so we can make it do other things too
Florian Ragwitz [Tue, 22 Mar 2011 13:42:41 +0000 (14:42 +0100)]
Refactor corelist-perldelta so we can make it do other things too

11 years agoRemove debugging code from corelist-perldelta.pl
Florian Ragwitz [Tue, 22 Mar 2011 13:36:09 +0000 (14:36 +0100)]
Remove debugging code from corelist-perldelta.pl

11 years agopods: Unicode::Casing is now available
Karl Williamson [Thu, 24 Mar 2011 15:33:16 +0000 (09:33 -0600)]
pods: Unicode::Casing is now available

11 years agoperlunicode: Minor corrections
Karl Williamson [Wed, 23 Mar 2011 04:04:02 +0000 (22:04 -0600)]
perlunicode: Minor corrections

11 years agoMerge branch 'blead' of ssh://perl5.git.perl.org/gitroot/perl into blead
Andy Dougherty [Wed, 23 Mar 2011 04:01:51 +0000 (00:01 -0400)]
Merge branch 'blead' of ssh://perl5.git.perl.org/gitroot/perl into blead

11 years agoMerge branch 'andyd' into blead
Andy Dougherty [Wed, 23 Mar 2011 03:27:33 +0000 (23:27 -0400)]
Merge branch 'andyd' into blead

11 years agoSkip t/io/eintr.t for Solaris 8 as well
Andy Dougherty [Wed, 23 Mar 2011 03:26:43 +0000 (23:26 -0400)]
Skip t/io/eintr.t for Solaris 8 as well

(See tickets perl #85842 and #84688).  I don't know if this is the same
as the FreeBSD problem or not.  Solaris 10 and 11 don't have any problem
with the test.

11 years agoSkip t/porting/regen.t on VMS.
Craig A. Berry [Wed, 23 Mar 2011 02:07:28 +0000 (21:07 -0500)]
Skip t/porting/regen.t on VMS.

The output of regen.pl is slightly different than on Unix.  Could
probably be ported with a moderate effort.

11 years agoSkip t/porting/exec-bit.t on VMS.
Craig A. Berry [Wed, 23 Mar 2011 02:05:16 +0000 (21:05 -0500)]
Skip t/porting/exec-bit.t on VMS.

It would need some porting to work.  In particular, filename case
is not preserved by default, so it's trying a lot of matches that
won't match.

11 years agoregcomp.c: Silence smoke win32 compiler warnig
Karl Williamson [Tue, 22 Mar 2011 23:49:50 +0000 (17:49 -0600)]
regcomp.c: Silence smoke win32 compiler warnig

11 years agoMerge branch 'blead' of ssh://perl5.git.perl.org/gitroot/perl into blead
Andy Dougherty [Tue, 22 Mar 2011 21:36:39 +0000 (17:36 -0400)]
Merge branch 'blead' of ssh://perl5.git.perl.org/gitroot/perl into blead

11 years agoImprove comment for skipped test on Solaris in t/io/eintr.t
Andy Dougherty [Tue, 22 Mar 2011 20:43:01 +0000 (16:43 -0400)]
Improve comment for skipped test on Solaris in t/io/eintr.t

11 years agoperl5130delta: Correct typo
Vadim Konovalov [Tue, 22 Mar 2011 15:16:27 +0000 (09:16 -0600)]
perl5130delta: Correct typo

11 years agoSkip t/io/eintr.t for Solaris 8 as well
Andy Dougherty [Tue, 22 Mar 2011 13:46:49 +0000 (09:46 -0400)]
Skip t/io/eintr.t for Solaris 8 as well

(see tickets perl #85842 and #84688).

11 years agoperlunicode: mention new Unicode::Casing
Karl Williamson [Tue, 22 Mar 2011 03:35:37 +0000 (21:35 -0600)]
perlunicode: mention new Unicode::Casing

11 years agomake t/op/rand.t fail less often
David Mitchell [Tue, 22 Mar 2011 00:26:33 +0000 (00:26 +0000)]
make t/op/rand.t fail less often

test 5 grabs many random numbers, and analyses the distribution
of 0 and 1 bits in the returned values.

It currently fails if the standard deviation is > 3.3.
This means it will fail on roughly 0.1% of runs even for a good system.

Given that an individual smoke report may contain 60+ runs, and given the
number of smokers running, this means that we see false negatives
essentially every day.

Increase the SD threshold to 4.0, which means that it will now fail every
0.006% runs; i.e. go from 1 in 1,000 false positives to one in 17,000
(approx).

(Note that just increasing the number of iterations in the run doesn't
change the 0.1% run failure rate.)

11 years agoperldelta: 5.12.3, not .2
Father Chrysostomos [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 21:11:22 +0000 (14:11 -0700)]
perldelta: 5.12.3, not .2

11 years agoperldelta: More reminders for the Known Problems
Father Chrysostomos [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 21:05:00 +0000 (14:05 -0700)]
perldelta: More reminders for the Known Problems

11 years agoperldelta: Unicode db not installed with Perl
Karl Williamson [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 18:58:05 +0000 (12:58 -0600)]
perldelta: Unicode db not installed with Perl

11 years agoperldelta: nit in to/from uvuni() section
Karl Williamson [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 18:41:37 +0000 (12:41 -0600)]
perldelta: nit in to/from uvuni() section

11 years agoperldelta: clarify /\p{}/ means Unicode
Karl Williamson [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 18:38:15 +0000 (12:38 -0600)]
perldelta: clarify /\p{}/ means Unicode

11 years agoperldelta: clarify /\p{}/i
Karl Williamson [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 18:37:44 +0000 (12:37 -0600)]
perldelta: clarify /\p{}/i

11 years agoperldelta: Fill in missing module name
Karl Williamson [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 18:28:59 +0000 (12:28 -0600)]
perldelta: Fill in missing module name

11 years agoperldelta: Add \b{ and \B{ as deprecations
Karl Williamson [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 18:28:03 +0000 (12:28 -0600)]
perldelta: Add \b{ and \B{ as deprecations

11 years agoperldelta: \cX is deprecated not removed
Karl Williamson [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 18:26:47 +0000 (12:26 -0600)]
perldelta: \cX is deprecated not removed

11 years agoperldelta: Re-order 2 paragraphs
Karl Williamson [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 17:35:57 +0000 (11:35 -0600)]
perldelta: Re-order 2 paragraphs

Note that one can turn off sub-categories of utf8 warnings when
operating on them, and introduce the fact that there are now these
categories in the paragraph before it instead of after it

11 years agonit in perldelta
Karl Williamson [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 17:31:19 +0000 (11:31 -0600)]
nit in perldelta

11 years agoPerl no longer comes with Unicode db files
Karl Williamson [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 17:26:13 +0000 (11:26 -0600)]
Perl no longer comes with Unicode db files

11 years agoAdapt corelist-perldelta to the current perldelta style
Florian Ragwitz [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 16:39:33 +0000 (17:39 +0100)]
Adapt corelist-perldelta to the current perldelta style

Apparently we used to do

  =item C<Module>
  ...

but these days all the perldeltas seem to prefer

  =item *
  C<Module> ...

instead.

11 years agoSub::Name is working again for some time now
Florian Ragwitz [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 16:26:19 +0000 (17:26 +0100)]
Sub::Name is working again for some time now

11 years agoperldelta: Re-add the upgrade notice
Father Chrysostomos [Mon, 21 Mar 2011 16:20:27 +0000 (09:20 -0700)]
perldelta: Re-add the upgrade notice

removed by 5076a39

11 years agoperldelta: Delete the Testing section
Father Chrysostomos [Sun, 20 Mar 2011 01:54:37 +0000 (18:54 -0700)]
perldelta: Delete the Testing section

perldelta is still above 4000 lines, but this should help. :-)

11 years agoperldelta: ‘(5.12.3)’ markers
Father Chrysostomos [Sun, 20 Mar 2011 01:51:24 +0000 (18:51 -0700)]
perldelta: ‘(5.12.3)’ markers

11 years agoperldelta: 5.12.2 markers, omissions, and tweaks
Father Chrysostomos [Sun, 20 Mar 2011 01:46:01 +0000 (18:46 -0700)]
perldelta: 5.12.2 markers, omissions, and tweaks

11 years agoperldelta: ‘(5.12.1)’ markers
Father Chrysostomos [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 19:15:22 +0000 (12:15 -0700)]
perldelta: ‘(5.12.1)’ markers

and other omissions that were discovered in the process

11 years agoperldelta: Incorporate mention of VS 2010 from 912c63e
Father Chrysostomos [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 18:03:28 +0000 (11:03 -0700)]
perldelta: Incorporate mention of VS 2010 from 912c63e

11 years agoperldelta: Retitle a subsection
Father Chrysostomos [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 16:58:51 +0000 (09:58 -0700)]
perldelta: Retitle a subsection

11 years agoperldelta: Add a reminder about Known Problems
Father Chrysostomos [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 16:58:13 +0000 (09:58 -0700)]
perldelta: Add a reminder about Known Problems

11 years agoperldelta: Tentatively finish sorting out bug fixes
Father Chrysostomos [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 16:57:49 +0000 (09:57 -0700)]
perldelta: Tentatively finish sorting out bug fixes

11 years agoperldelta: Rearrange the debugger bug section
Father Chrysostomos [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 01:11:17 +0000 (18:11 -0700)]
perldelta: Rearrange the debugger bug section

so that things that non-internals people will understand are at the
top of the list

11 years agoperldelta: Clean up the magic bug section
Father Chrysostomos [Sat, 19 Mar 2011 01:09:10 +0000 (18:09 -0700)]
perldelta: Clean up the magic bug section

11 years agoperldelta: Clean up the Unicode bugs section
Father Chrysostomos [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 15:53:53 +0000 (08:53 -0700)]
perldelta: Clean up the Unicode bugs section

11 years agoperldelta: Clean up the glob/stash/mro bug section
Father Chrysostomos [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 05:49:33 +0000 (22:49 -0700)]
perldelta: Clean up the glob/stash/mro bug section

11 years agoperldelta: Clean up the parsing bugs section
Father Chrysostomos [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 03:26:08 +0000 (20:26 -0700)]
perldelta: Clean up the parsing bugs section

This rewords and reformats some entries and also rearranges them
to put similar entries nearer each other.

11 years agoperldelta: Move the C API bugs section down
Father Chrysostomos [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 00:01:14 +0000 (17:01 -0700)]
perldelta: Move the C API bugs section down

11 years agoperldelta: Some clean-up of I/O and regexp bugs
Father Chrysostomos [Fri, 18 Mar 2011 00:00:24 +0000 (17:00 -0700)]
perldelta: Some clean-up of I/O and regexp bugs