This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Have perlbug report version being patched
authorSmylers <Smylers@stripey.com>
Wed, 4 Sep 2013 09:49:41 +0000 (10:49 +0100)
committerJames E Keenan <jkeenan@cpan.org>
Thu, 5 Sep 2013 01:06:01 +0000 (03:06 +0200)
In the Super Quick Patch Guide, run the perlbug and perl from the working
copy that the patch is against, so the bug report contains relevant
version and configuration data, rather than that of whichever system perl
the reporter happens to have installed.

For: RT #119599

pod/perlhack.pod

index 7194469..5d2dec1 100644 (file)
@@ -61,7 +61,7 @@ writes the file as a MIME attachment, and sends it with a meaningful
 subject:
 
   % git format-patch -1 --attach
 subject:
 
   % git format-patch -1 --attach
-  % perlbug -s "[PATCH] $(git log -1 --oneline HEAD)" -f 0001-*.patch
+  % ./perl -Ilib utils/perlbug -s "[PATCH] $(git log -1 --oneline HEAD)" -f 0001-*.patch
 
 The perlbug program will ask you a few questions about your email
 address and the patch you're submitting.  Once you've answered them it
 
 The perlbug program will ask you a few questions about your email
 address and the patch you're submitting.  Once you've answered them it