This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Missed perldelta for 437e3a7 (for v5.19.8)
authorMatthew Horsfall <WolfSage@gmail.com>
Wed, 2 Apr 2014 16:02:53 +0000 (12:02 -0400)
committerMatthew Horsfall (alh) <wolfsage@gmail.com>
Mon, 7 Apr 2014 16:46:54 +0000 (12:46 -0400)
pod/perl5198delta.pod

index 6c6789d..d32a743 100644 (file)
@@ -84,6 +84,27 @@ as an updated module in the L</Modules and Pragmata> section.
 
 =back
 
+=head1 Performance Enhancements
+
+=over 4
+
+=item *
+
+In certain situations, when C<return> is the last statement in a subroutine's
+main scope, it will be optimized out. This means code like:
+
+  sub baz { return $cat; }
+
+will now behave like:
+
+  sub baz { $cat; }
+
+which is notably faster.
+
+[perl #120765]
+
+=back
+
 =head1 Modules and Pragmata
 
 =head2 New Modules and Pragmata