This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
sv.h: Add comment
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sat, 11 Feb 2017 04:26:55 +0000 (21:26 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sun, 12 Feb 2017 16:17:35 +0000 (09:17 -0700)
sv.h

diff --git a/sv.h b/sv.h
index 6227d46..82130b7 100644 (file)
--- a/sv.h
+++ b/sv.h
@@ -155,7 +155,10 @@ typedef enum {
 /* *** any alterations to the SV types above need to be reflected in
  * SVt_MASK and the various PL_valid_types_* tables.  As of this writing those
  * tables are in perl.h.  There are also two affected names tables in dump.c,
- * one in B.xs, and 'bodies_by_type[]' in sv.c */
+ * one in B.xs, and 'bodies_by_type[]' in sv.c.
+ *
+ * The bits that match 0xf0 are CURRENTLY UNUSED, except that 0xFF means a
+ * freed SV.  The bits above that are for flags, like SVf_IOK */
 
 #define SVt_MASK 0xf   /* smallest bitmask that covers all types */