This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Don't advertise PERL_HASH_SEED_EXPLICIT and NO_HASH_SEED
authorJan Dubois <jand@activestate.com>
Tue, 7 Dec 2010 21:57:10 +0000 (13:57 -0800)
committerJan Dubois <jand@activestate.com>
Tue, 7 Dec 2010 22:21:12 +0000 (14:21 -0800)
These (commented out) options had been advertised/documented in the
Makefile to make it easy to produce binary compatible builds of
Perl 5.8.x after the hash key randomization feature was introduced.
There is no reason to point out these customization option in
a prominent space.

win32/Makefile
win32/makefile.mk

index b1680cb..dbae5f2 100644 (file)
@@ -184,16 +184,6 @@ CCLIBDIR   = $(CCHOME)\lib
 BUILDOPT       = $(BUILDOPTEXTRA)
 
 #
-# Adding -DPERL_HASH_SEED_EXPLICIT will disable randomization of Perl's
-# internal hash function unless the PERL_HASH_SEED environment variable is set.
-# Alternatively, adding -DNO_HASH_SEED will completely disable the
-# randomization feature. 
-# The latter is required to maintain binary compatibility with Perl 5.8.0.
-#
-#BUILDOPT      = $(BUILDOPT) -DPERL_HASH_SEED_EXPLICIT
-#BUILDOPT      = $(BUILDOPT) -DNO_HASH_SEED
-
-#
 # This should normally be disabled.  Enabling it will disable the File::Glob
 # implementation of CORE::glob.
 #
index b907143..9c01779 100644 (file)
@@ -240,16 +240,6 @@ CCLIBDIR *= $(CCHOME)\lib
 BUILDOPT       *= $(BUILDOPTEXTRA)
 
 #
-# Adding -DPERL_HASH_SEED_EXPLICIT will disable randomization of Perl's
-# internal hash function unless the PERL_HASH_SEED environment variable is set.
-# Alternatively, adding -DNO_HASH_SEED will completely disable the
-# randomization feature. 
-# The latter is required to maintain binary compatibility with Perl 5.8.0.
-#
-#BUILDOPT      += -DPERL_HASH_SEED_EXPLICIT
-#BUILDOPT      += -DNO_HASH_SEED
-
-#
 # This should normally be disabled.  Enabling it will disable the File::Glob
 # implementation of CORE::glob.
 #