This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
[perl #89662] PATCH to perlfunc.pod: select fix
authorTom Christiansen <tchrist@perl.com>
Mon, 2 May 2011 13:28:53 +0000 (09:28 -0400)
committerJesse Vincent <jesse@bestpractical.com>
Wed, 18 May 2011 18:59:37 +0000 (14:59 -0400)
I think it's about time--by say 20 years--that we stop passing around
filehandles as strings, especially if we don't use Symbol::qualify_to_ref()
to fix the package.  Plus it isn't strict-safe.  All fixed now.

I am somewhat concerned about the final comment regarding read
and sysread, as I don't know whether PerlIO encoding translation
issues affect this picture.

--tom


No differences found