This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Resetting a check out in Super Quick Patch Guide
authorSmylers <Smylers@stripey.com>
Wed, 4 Sep 2013 10:58:34 +0000 (11:58 +0100)
committerJames E Keenan <jkeenan@cpan.org>
Thu, 5 Sep 2013 01:17:19 +0000 (03:17 +0200)
Add advice so that somebody wishing to submit a second patch doesn't need
to throw away their perl check-out and start again.

Not knowing the 'git clean' step caught me out, and meant perl wouldn't
build for me. Nicholas helped me out. Adding this to the guide will
hopefully save Nicholas from having to repeat that for others (especially
since others may not be fortunate enough to have Nicholas handily seated
next to them at the point they encounter it).

(The non-building was because some things in the repository had been
re-arranged since my previous patch (several months earlier), and the
latest build was getting confused by some files left over from a
pre-re-arragned build.)

The 'git clean' step will also remove the first 0001-*.patch file, avoiding
the problem of there being two files matching that glob when attaching the
second patch.

Committer: Removed trailing whitespace.

For: RT #119599

pod/perlhack.pod

index 74d728e..b2cbcf1 100644 (file)
@@ -80,6 +80,17 @@ will submit your patch via email.
 The porters appreciate the time you spent helping to make Perl better.
 Thank you!
 
 The porters appreciate the time you spent helping to make Perl better.
 Thank you!
 
+=item * Next time
+
+The next time you wish to make a patch, you need to start from the
+latest perl in a pristine state. Check you don't have any local changes
+or added files in your perl check-out which you wish to keep, then run
+these commands:
+
+  % git pull
+  % git reset --hard origin/blead
+  % git clean -dxf
+
 =back
 
 =head1 BUG REPORTING
 =back
 
 =head1 BUG REPORTING