This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
constant.pm: Remove doc reference to compile-time checking
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Tue, 26 Aug 2014 05:01:44 +0000 (22:01 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Tue, 26 Aug 2014 05:17:03 +0000 (22:17 -0700)
This was removed in commit eff754733a.  It was necessary, as the
feature caused bugs #69456 and #122607.

Advertising the compile-time check with version-dependent qualifi-
cations would make the documentation too verbose.

dist/constant/lib/constant.pm

index d1b32c5..64a20ba 100644 (file)
@@ -269,10 +269,6 @@ point to data which may be changed, as this code shows.
     ARRAY->[1] = " be changed";
     print ARRAY->[1];
 
-Dereferencing constant references incorrectly (such as using an array
-subscript on a constant hash reference, or vice versa) will be trapped at
-compile time.
-
 Constants belong to the package they are defined in.  To refer to a
 constant defined in another package, specify the full package name, as
 in C<Some::Package::CONSTANT>.  Constants may be exported by modules,