This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
remove bogus $remainder variable from perlfunc/split
authorLukas Mai <l.mai@web.de>
Tue, 19 Jun 2012 13:03:19 +0000 (15:03 +0200)
committerJesse Luehrs <doy@tozt.net>
Tue, 19 Jun 2012 13:13:26 +0000 (08:13 -0500)
As reported by Anša Vernerová:

| Calling the third argument $remainer is simply wrong - the remainder is
| the fourth argument, which is not assigned to anything.

pod/perlfunc.pod

index 99cdeec..ddd301a 100644 (file)
@@ -6807,9 +6807,9 @@ In time-critical applications, it is worthwhile to avoid splitting
 into more fields than necessary.  Thus, when assigning to a list,
 if LIMIT is omitted (or zero), then LIMIT is treated as though it
 were one larger than the number of variables in the list; for the
-following, LIMIT is implicitly 4:
+following, LIMIT is implicitly 3:
 
-    ($login, $passwd, $remainder) = split(/:/);
+    ($login, $passwd) = split(/:/);
 
 Note that splitting an EXPR that evaluates to the empty string always
 produces zero fields, regardless of the LIMIT specified.