This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Amplify diagnostic about in-place editing.
authorJames E Keenan <jkeenan@cpan.org>
Sat, 10 Nov 2012 14:05:06 +0000 (09:05 -0500)
committerJames E Keenan <jkeenan@cpan.org>
Sun, 11 Nov 2012 00:36:20 +0000 (19:36 -0500)
An uneditable directory is a "special file" from the point of view of 'perl
-wne'.

For RT #72284.  Thanks to frank.wiegand for report.

pod/perldiag.pod

index f12264c..3c3a48e 100644 (file)
@@ -711,7 +711,7 @@ error if you use an explicit C<continue>.)
 =item Can't do inplace edit: %s is not a regular file
 
 (S inplace) You tried to use the B<-i> switch on a special file, such as
 =item Can't do inplace edit: %s is not a regular file
 
 (S inplace) You tried to use the B<-i> switch on a special file, such as
-a file in /dev, or a FIFO.  The file was ignored.
+a file in /dev, a FIFO or an uneditable directory.  The file was ignored.
 
 =item Can't do inplace edit on %s: %s
 
 
 =item Can't do inplace edit on %s: %s