This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perlop: Enhance a tr/// example
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sat, 7 Nov 2020 18:11:09 +0000 (11:11 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Fri, 13 Nov 2020 14:07:01 +0000 (07:07 -0700)
This more clearly demonstrates that the /s option squeezes based on
the result rather than the source

pod/perlop.pod

index ddaf430..1387dd6 100644 (file)
@@ -2670,8 +2670,8 @@ If the C</s> modifier is specified, sequences of characters, all in a
 row, that were transliterated to the same character are squashed down to
 a single instance of that character.
 
 row, that were transliterated to the same character are squashed down to
 a single instance of that character.
 
- my $a = "aaaba"
- $a =~ tr/a/a/s     # $a now is "aba"
+ my $a = "aaabbbca";
+ $a =~ tr/ab/dd/s;     # $a now is "dcd"
 
 If the C</d> modifier is used, the I<REPLACEMENTLIST> is always interpreted
 exactly as specified.  Otherwise, if the I<REPLACEMENTLIST> is shorter
 
 If the C</d> modifier is used, the I<REPLACEMENTLIST> is always interpreted
 exactly as specified.  Otherwise, if the I<REPLACEMENTLIST> is shorter