This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Revert "The relation between overloading and ties has been fixed."
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Thu, 10 Feb 2011 22:22:02 +0000 (14:22 -0800)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Thu, 10 Feb 2011 22:25:18 +0000 (14:25 -0800)
This reverts commit c378af320498199f011ee6aca32cef036936dd36.

Other parts of the document still refer to this. More edits are
fifthcoming.

lib/overload.pm

index 9a2c4c5..c538177 100644 (file)
@@ -1678,6 +1678,19 @@ from two overloaded packages.
 
 =item *
 
+Relation between overloading and tie()ing is broken.  Overloading is
+triggered or not basing on the I<previous> class of tie()d value.
+
+This happens because the presence of overloading is checked too early,
+before any tie()d access is attempted.  If the FETCH()ed class of the
+tie()d value does not change, a simple workaround is to access the value
+immediately after tie()ing, so that after this call the I<previous> class
+coincides with the current one.
+
+B<Needed:> a way to fix this without a speed penalty.
+
+=item *
+
 Barewords are not covered by overloaded string constants.
 
 =back