This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perlhack.pod: fix perlbug invocation
authorJim Cromie (via RT) <perlbug-followup@perl.org>
Sun, 29 May 2011 01:39:48 +0000 (18:39 -0700)
committerDavid Mitchell <davem@iabyn.com>
Tue, 31 May 2011 14:33:19 +0000 (15:33 +0100)
In perlhack,

  % perlbug -s "[PATCH] $(git log -1 --format=%s HEAD)" -f 0001-*.patch

is incomplete; --format=%s needs a proper value.
Use --oneline instead, as it also --abbrev(iates) sha1

$ git log --oneline -1
c8dfc96 regexp.h: repair linux perf compilation

Note that HEAD is optional, but just as clear as <branch-name>.

pod/perlhack.pod

index 5e85f4b..f8f8bdd 100644 (file)
@@ -60,7 +60,7 @@ Assuming your patch consists of a single git commit, you can send it to
 perlbug with this command line:
 
   % git format-patch -1
-  % perlbug -s "[PATCH] $(git log -1 --format=%s HEAD)" -f 0001-*.patch
+  % perlbug -s "[PATCH] $(git log -1 --oneline HEAD)" -f 0001-*.patch
 
 The perlbug program will ask you a few questions about your email
 address and the patch you're submitting. Once you've answered them you