This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Update the comment in util.h related to HAS_QUAD and U64TYPE.
authorNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Tue, 17 Sep 2013 12:40:29 +0000 (14:40 +0200)
committerNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Wed, 18 Sep 2013 07:58:49 +0000 (09:58 +0200)
util.h

diff --git a/util.h b/util.h
index 38c8d2f..87a3f26 100644 (file)
--- a/util.h
+++ b/util.h
@@ -52,7 +52,9 @@ This is a synonym for (! foldEQ_locale())
 #define ibcmp(s1, s2, len)         cBOOL(! foldEQ(s1, s2, len))
 #define ibcmp_locale(s1, s2, len)  cBOOL(! foldEQ_locale(s1, s2, len))
 
-/* perl.h undefs HAS_QUAD if IV isn't 64-bit */
+/* outside the core, perl.h undefs HAS_QUAD if IV isn't 64-bit
+   We can't swap this to HAS_QUAD, because the logic here affects the type of
+   perl_drand48_t below, and that is visible outside of the core.  */
 #ifdef U64TYPE
 #  if !defined(_MSC_VER) || _MSC_VER >= 1300
 /* use a faster implementation when quads are available,