This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
regcomp.c [perl #78058] qr/\18/ loops
authorKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Tue, 28 Sep 2010 20:44:08 +0000 (14:44 -0600)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Tue, 28 Sep 2010 22:36:37 +0000 (15:36 -0700)
This patch restores the behavior of /\18/ to mean /\0018/, which was
inadvertently changed by c99e91e919b4bb89bab7829a9026ee01b1fff2a1.

This bug happens when t the first digit is [1-9], and the
second [89].

regcomp.c
t/re/re.t

index ff9f87b..bcdc65f 100644 (file)
--- a/regcomp.c
+++ b/regcomp.c
@@ -7601,7 +7601,7 @@ tryagain:
                    case '0': case '1': case '2': case '3':case '4':
                    case '5': case '6': case '7': case '8':case '9':
                        if (*p == '0' ||
-                           (isOCTAL(p[1]) && atoi(p) >= RExC_npar))
+                           (isDIGIT(p[1]) && atoi(p) >= RExC_npar))
                        {
                            I32 flags = PERL_SCAN_SILENT_ILLDIGIT;
                            STRLEN numlen = 3;
index 76835f0..ecbcb29 100644 (file)
--- a/t/re/re.t
+++ b/t/re/re.t
@@ -53,13 +53,18 @@ if ('1234'=~/(?:(?<A>\d)|(?<C>!))(?<B>\d)(?<A>\d)(?<B>\d)/){
     is(regnames_count(),3);
 }
 
-    { # Keep this test last, as whole script will be interrupted if times out
+    { # Keep these tests last, as whole script will be interrupted if times out
         # Bug #72998; this can loop 
         watchdog(2);
         eval '"\x{100}\x{FB00}" =~ /\x{100}\N{U+66}+/i';
         pass("Didn't loop");
+
+        # Bug #78058; this can loop
+        watchdog(2);
+        eval 'qr/\18/';
+        pass("qr/\18/ didn't loop");
     }
 
 # New tests above this line, don't forget to update the test count below!
-BEGIN { plan tests => 19 }
+BEGIN { plan tests => 20 }
 # No tests here!