This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Remove "8-bit" reference from ord documentation
authorJohn P Linderman <jpl@research.att.com>
Fri, 7 Oct 2011 02:04:38 +0000 (20:04 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Fri, 7 Oct 2011 02:12:18 +0000 (20:12 -0600)
See
http://www.xray.mpe.mpg.de/mailing-lists/perl5-porters/2011-10/msg00079.html
for additional background.

pod/perlfunc.pod

index 5d15fe3..246ad2e 100644 (file)
@@ -3835,8 +3835,7 @@ X<ord> X<encoding>
 
 =item ord
 
-Returns the numeric (the native 8-bit encoding, like ASCII or EBCDIC,
-or Unicode) value of the first character of EXPR.  
+Returns the numeric value of the first character of EXPR.
 If EXPR is an empty string, returns 0.  If EXPR is omitted, uses C<$_>.
 (Note I<character>, not byte.)