This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Removed bzip option from makerel
author=?UTF-8?q?Ask=20Bj=C3=B8rn=20Hansen?= <ask@develooper.com>
Tue, 31 Oct 2017 15:39:21 +0000 (08:39 -0700)
committerKaren Etheridge <ether@cpan.org>
Sun, 19 Nov 2017 22:46:22 +0000 (14:46 -0800)
xz compresses better and decompresses faster, gzip is still more
compatible and uses less memory. In the recent years we've
archived perl as both gzip, bzip2 and xz which doesn't make much
sense. This is a followup to f276fdad.

closes [perl #132381].

Porting/makerel

index 4671462..e77b4af 100755 (executable)
@@ -28,13 +28,12 @@ use Getopt::Std;
 $|=1;
 
 sub usage { die <<EOF; }
-usage: $0 [ -r rootdir ] [-s suffix ] [ -b ] [ -n ]
+usage: $0 [ -r rootdir ] [-s suffix ] [ -x ] [ -n ]
     -r rootdir   directory under which to create the build dir and tarball
                  defaults to '..'
     -s suffix    suffix to append to to the perl-x.y.z dir and tarball name
                 defaults to the concatenation of the local_patches entry
                 in patchlevel.h (or blank, if none)
-    -b           make a .bz2 file in addition to a .gz file
     -x           make a .xz file in addition to a .gz file
     -n           do not make any tarballs, just the directory
 EOF
@@ -206,18 +205,6 @@ if ($have_7z) {
     }
 }
 
-if ($opts{b}) {
-    if ($have_7z) {
-        print "Creating and compressing the tar.bz2 file with 7z...\n";
-        $cmd = "tar cf - $reldir | 7z a -tbzip2 -mx9 -bd -si $reldir.tar.bz2";
-        system($cmd) == 0 or die "$cmd failed";
-    } else {
-        print "Creating and compressing the tar.bz2 file...\n";
-        $cmd = "tar cf - $reldir | bzip2 > $reldir.tar.bz2";
-        system($cmd) == 0 or die "$cmd failed";
-    }
-}
-
 if ($opts{x}) {
     print "Creating and compressing the tar.gz file with 7z...\n";
     $cmd = "tar cf - $reldir | xz -z -c > $reldir.tar.xz";