This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
t/test.pl: Remove use of more recent feature
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sun, 8 Mar 2015 16:22:35 +0000 (10:22 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sun, 8 Mar 2015 16:52:26 +0000 (10:52 -0600)
This file is copied into the "threads" CPAN distribution, and the addition
of this modern feature (/a pattern modifier) required them to issue a
modified version of this file.  Since the effect of /a can easily be
achieved in other, though less clear, ways using longer established
syntaxes, use those with a clarifying comment.

See https://rt.perl.org/Ticket/Display.html?id=124013

t/test.pl

index 3cfb1c4..de82e94 100644 (file)
--- a/t/test.pl
+++ b/t/test.pl
@@ -4,12 +4,15 @@
 
 # NOTE:
 #
-# Increment ($x++) has a certain amount of cleverness for things like
+# It's best to not features found only in more modern Perls here, as some cpan
+# distributions copy this file and operate on older Perls.  Similarly keep
+# things simple as this may be run under fairly broken circumstances.  For
+# example, increment ($x++) has a certain amount of cleverness for things like
 #
 #   $x = 'zz';
 #   $x++; # $x eq 'aaa';
 #
-# stands more chance of breaking than just a simple
+# This stands more chance of breaking than just a simple
 #
 #   $x = $x + 1
 #