This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perldelta: Mention -T -B changes
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sun, 14 Sep 2014 14:37:37 +0000 (08:37 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sun, 14 Sep 2014 14:40:01 +0000 (08:40 -0600)
pod/perldelta.pod

index 1ed32c3..c5e1352 100644 (file)
@@ -530,6 +530,15 @@ The parser no longer gets confused by C<\U=> within a double-quoted string.
 It used to roduce a syntax error, but now compiles it correctly.
 [perl #80368]
 
+=item *
+
+It has always been the intention for the C<-B> and C<-T> file test
+operators to treat UTF-8 encoded files as text.
+(L<perlfunc|perlfunc/-X FILEHANDLE> has been updated to say this.)
+Previously, it was possible for some files to be considered UTF-8 that
+actually weren't valid UTF-8.  This is now fixed.  The operators now
+work on EBCDIC platforms as well.
+
 =back
 
 =head1 Known Problems