This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perlrequick: Expand on \d, etc.
authorKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Fri, 29 Jul 2011 01:09:43 +0000 (19:09 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Fri, 29 Jul 2011 01:25:58 +0000 (19:25 -0600)
This clarifies that the definitions presented here are valid only when
/a is specified.

pod/perlrequick.pod

index d543389..bd44d01 100644 (file)
@@ -162,8 +162,9 @@ character, or the match fails.  Then
     /[a^]at/;  # matches 'aat' or '^at'; here '^' is ordinary
 
 Perl has several abbreviations for common character classes. (These
-definitions are those that Perl uses in ASCII mode with the C</a> modifier.
-See L<perlrecharclass/Backslash sequences> for details.)
+definitions are those that Perl uses in ASCII-safe mode with the C</a> modifier.
+Otherwise they could match many more non-ASCII Unicode characters as
+well.  See L<perlrecharclass/Backslash sequences> for details.)
 
 =over 4