This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perldelta for Unicode property performance gains
authorKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Sun, 26 Aug 2012 17:30:57 +0000 (11:30 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Sun, 26 Aug 2012 18:28:26 +0000 (12:28 -0600)
pod/perldelta.pod

index 1c8931c..232d68e 100644 (file)
@@ -64,7 +64,10 @@ There may well be none in a stable release.
 
 =item *
 
-XXX
+Speed up in regular expression matching against Unicode properties.  The
+largest gain is for C<\X>, the Unicode "extended grapheme cluster".  The
+gain for it is about 35% - 40%.  Bracketed character classes, e.g.,
+C<[0-9\x{100}]> containing code points above 255 are also now faster.
 
 =back