This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Updates to perldelta
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Mon, 18 Nov 2019 20:17:53 +0000 (13:17 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Mon, 18 Nov 2019 20:18:34 +0000 (13:18 -0700)
pod/perldelta.pod

index 56ca050..86db762 100644 (file)
@@ -394,6 +394,23 @@ call them with one argument. This has been fixed by declaring them to have
 one parameter. See the merge commit C<v5.31.5-346-g116e19abbf> for full
 details.
 
+=item *
+
+The code that handles C<tr///> has been extensively revised, fixing
+various bugs, especially when the source and/or replacement strings
+contain characters whose code points are above 255.  Some of the bugs
+were undocumented, one being that under some circumstances (but not all)
+with C</s>, the squeezing was done based on the source, rather than the
+replacement.  A documented bug that got fixed was [perl RT #125493].
+
+=item *
+
+A new macro for XS writers dealing with UTF-8-encoded Unicode strings
+has been created L<perlapi/C<UTF8_CHK_SKIP>> that is safer in the face
+of malformed UTF-8 input than L<perlapi/C<UTF8_SKIP>> (but not as safe
+as L<perlapi/C<UTF8_SAFE_SKIP>>).  It won't read past a NUL character.
+It has been backported in L<Devel::PPPort> 3.55 and later.
+
 =back
 
 =head1 Selected Bug Fixes
@@ -420,6 +437,10 @@ The tokenizer has been extensively refactored. [#17241][#17189]
 C<use strict "subs"> is now enforced for bareword constants optimized
 into a C<multiconcat> operator.  [#17254]
 
+=item *
+
+A memory leak in regular expression patterns has been fixed [#17218].
+
 =back
 
 =head1 Known Problems