This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perldelta for PL_amagic_generation removal
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Wed, 23 May 2012 20:17:17 +0000 (13:17 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Thu, 24 May 2012 00:59:21 +0000 (17:59 -0700)
pod/perldelta.pod

index abfc498..0d485f2 100644 (file)
@@ -361,10 +361,8 @@ are invoked, rather than during C<bless>.
 "A" magic is gone.  The changes to the handling of the C<SVf_AMAGIC> flag
 eliminate the need for it.
 
-The core no longer increments C<PL_amagic_generation> (it doesn't need to).
-But an XS module can still increment it to mark all overload tables as
-stale.  (It is still not part of the API, though.)  Do not rely on this.
-It may be deleted in the next release.
+C<PL_amagic_generation> has been removed as no longer necessary.  For XS
+modules, it is now a macro alias to C<PL_na>.
 
 The fallback overload setting is now stored in its own stash entry, called
 "(fallback".