This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
[perl #78074] Make it explicit that symtab manipulation is not supported
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Fri, 13 May 2011 15:37:48 +0000 (08:37 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Wed, 18 May 2011 22:38:15 +0000 (15:38 -0700)
pod/perlmod.pod

index 5266f19..02c0493 100644 (file)
@@ -102,6 +102,10 @@ You can use this to print out all the variables in a package, for
 instance.  The standard but antiquated F<dumpvar.pl> library and
 the CPAN module Devel::Symdump make use of this.
 
+The results of creating new symbol table entries directly or modifying any
+entries that are not already typeglobs are undefined and subject ot change
+between releases of perl.
+
 Assignment to a typeglob performs an aliasing operation, i.e.,
 
     *dick = *richard;