This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
[Merge] New PADLIST type
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Wed, 22 Aug 2012 01:02:39 +0000 (18:02 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Wed, 22 Aug 2012 01:07:36 +0000 (18:07 -0700)
To fix a bug (db4cf31d1d) and to facilitate the lexical subs I’m work-
ing on, I needed to be able to add extra fields to a padlist.  But
padlists are AVs, making that nontrivial.

There is no reason they need to be AVs, and they take less memory when
they are not, so I made a new padlist struct.

This is going to break CPAN modules that manipulate padlists.

To avoid having to patch those modules again later if we change pads
from AVs into their own types, I have added APIs for accessing the
contents of pads.

There is also a new PADNAMELIST type (currently equivalent to AV), in
case the pad holding the names needs to be a different type from a pad
some time in the future.


Trivial merge