This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Restore ‘Assigning non-zero to $[’ to perldiag
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Thu, 15 Dec 2011 02:10:49 +0000 (18:10 -0800)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Fri, 16 Dec 2011 00:15:30 +0000 (16:15 -0800)
This was removed by b82b06b8ca32.  The message is coming back soon, at
least under ‘use 5.016’....

pod/perldiag.pod

index 1f47ffe..6a05c18 100644 (file)
@@ -238,6 +238,11 @@ spots.  This is now heavily deprecated.
 
 (X) A general assertion failed.  The file in question must be examined.
 
+=item Assigning non-zero to $[ is no longer possible
+
+(F) The special variable C<$[>, deprecated in older perls, is now a fixed
+zero value, because the feature that it used to control has been removed.
+
 =item Assignment to both a list and a scalar
 
 (F) If you assign to a conditional operator, the 2nd and 3rd arguments