This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Document some re bugs in perlre.pod
authorKarl Williamson <khw@khw-desktop.(none)>
Fri, 26 Feb 2010 03:45:11 +0000 (20:45 -0700)
committerJesse Vincent <jesse@bestpractical.com>
Sun, 28 Feb 2010 20:15:21 +0000 (10:15 -1000)
pod/perlre.pod

index c675186..b6a73c0 100644 (file)
@@ -2154,6 +2154,10 @@ Subroutine call to a named capture buffer. Equivalent to C<< (?&NAME) >>.
 
 =head1 BUGS
 
+There are numerous problems with case insensitive matching of characters
+outside the ASCII range, especially with those whose folds are multiple
+characters, such as ligatures like C<LATIN SMALL LIGATURE FF>.
+
 In a bracketed character class with case insensitive matching, ranges only work
 for ASCII characters.  For example,
 C<m/[\N{CYRILLIC CAPITAL LETTER A}-\N{CYRILLIC CAPITAL LETTER YA}]/i>