This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
t/TEST: Unset PERL_UNICODE
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Mon, 6 Apr 2020 17:52:02 +0000 (11:52 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Mon, 20 Jul 2020 03:31:00 +0000 (21:31 -0600)
This commit adds this environment variable to the list of the ones that
are generally unset during the test suite execution.  Tests shouldn't
have to consider, for example, if PERL5OPT has something set like -w,
and the same for PERL_UNICODE, as its being set causes all filehandles
to have :utf8 set by default.

This should fix test suite smoke faiures we are getting in IO::Socket

t/TEST

diff --git a/t/TEST b/t/TEST
index b534c49..810b92a 100755 (executable)
--- a/t/TEST
+++ b/t/TEST
@@ -90,7 +90,7 @@ my %temp_needs_dot  = map { $_ => 1 } qw(
 # but allow override via *_TEST env var if wanted
 # (e.g. PERL5OPT_TEST=-d:NYTProf)
 my @bad_env_vars = qw(
 # but allow override via *_TEST env var if wanted
 # (e.g. PERL5OPT_TEST=-d:NYTProf)
 my @bad_env_vars = qw(
-    PERL5LIB PERLLIB PERL5OPT
+    PERL5LIB PERLLIB PERL5OPT PERL_UNICODE
     PERL_YAML_BACKEND PERL_JSON_BACKEND
 );
 
     PERL_YAML_BACKEND PERL_JSON_BACKEND
 );