This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perldelta for b5bbe64.
authorJarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
Fri, 13 Jun 2014 20:40:36 +0000 (16:40 -0400)
committerJarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
Fri, 13 Jun 2014 20:42:11 +0000 (16:42 -0400)
pod/perldelta.pod

index aae8cd6..27da054 100644 (file)
@@ -144,6 +144,15 @@ be affected by locale; only C<$!> and C<$^E> stringification.  The
 'bytes' pragma causes the UTF-8 flag to not be set, just as in previous
 Perl releases.  This resolves [perl #112208].
 
+=head2 MAD build option has been removed
+
+MAD = Misc Attribute Decoration; unmaintained attempt at preserving
+the Perl parse tree more faithfully so that automatic conversion of
+Perl 5 to Perl 6 would have been easier.
+
+This build-time configuration option had been unmaintained for years,
+and had probably seriously diverged on both Perl 5 and Perl 6 sides.
+
 =head1 Deprecations
 
 XXX Any deprecated features, syntax, modules etc. should be listed here.