This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perldelta entries for 088225f
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Thu, 14 Apr 2011 03:28:44 +0000 (20:28 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Thu, 14 Apr 2011 03:29:04 +0000 (20:29 -0700)
pod/perldelta.pod

index aa7416e..d7fa8e4 100644 (file)
@@ -701,6 +701,15 @@ Therefore, as an exception to the general rule, local($_) will not
 only assign a new value to $_, but also remove all existing magic from
 it as well.
 
+=head3 Parsing of package and variable names
+
+The parsing of the names of packages and package variables has changed, in
+that multiple adjacent pairs of colons (as in foo::::bar) are all treated
+as package separators.
+
+Regardless of this change, the exact parsing of package separators has
+never been guaranteed and is subject to change in future Perl versions.
+
 =head2 Changes to Syntax or to Perl Operators
 
 =head3 C<given> return values
@@ -3729,6 +3738,11 @@ case.  The __ANON__ package is now used also when the original package is
 no longer attached to the symbol table.  This avoids memory leaks in some
 cases [perl #87664].
 
+=item *
+
+Subroutines and package variables inside a package whose name ends with
+"::" can now be accessed with a fully qualified name.
+
 =back
 
 =head2 Unicode