This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Correct INSTALL to warn about editing cflags, not cflags.SH
authorNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Wed, 28 Mar 2012 14:57:13 +0000 (16:57 +0200)
committerNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Tue, 17 Apr 2012 08:50:03 +0000 (10:50 +0200)
Commit 668cbedd4fc8e9b2 in Nov 2011, as part of a much larger set of edits
and corrections, inadvertently changed 'cflags' to 'cflags.SH', which is
not correct in context.

INSTALL

diff --git a/INSTALL b/INSTALL
index 2f76d13..e9d20cb 100644 (file)
--- a/INSTALL
+++ b/INSTALL
@@ -1271,8 +1271,8 @@ If you have any additional changes to make to the C compiler command
 line, they can be made in cflags.SH.  For instance, to turn off the
 optimizer on toke.c, find the line in the switch structure for
 toke.c and put the command optimize='-g' before the ;; .  You
-can also edit cflags.SH directly, but beware that your changes will be
-lost the next time you run Configure.
+should not edit the generated file cflags directly, as your changes will
+be lost the next time you run Configure, or if you edit config.sh.
 
 To explore various ways of changing ccflags from within a hint file,
 see the file hints/README.hints.