This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perlpragma.pod: Clarify that runtime %^H is ro
authorKarl Williamson <khw@khw-desktop.(none)>
Fri, 9 Jul 2010 19:21:33 +0000 (13:21 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@khw-desktop.(none)>
Tue, 13 Jul 2010 23:09:53 +0000 (17:09 -0600)
You can use (caller(0))[10} to retrieve the contents of %^H, and any
changes you make to your local copy will be lost, but that may not be
immediately apparent to the pod reader.

pod/perlpragma.pod

index 51292a8..8560144 100644 (file)
@@ -117,8 +117,8 @@ for the user's code.
 
 User pragmata store their state by writing to the magical hash C<%^H>,
 hence these two routines manipulate it. The state information in C<%^H> is
-stored in the optree, and can be retrieved at runtime with C<caller()>, at
-index 10 of the list of returned results. In the example pragma, retrieval
+stored in the optree, and can be retrieved read-only at runtime with C<caller()>,
+at index 10 of the list of returned results. In the example pragma, retrieval
 is encapsulated into the routine C<in_effect()>, which takes as parameter
 the number of call frames to go up to find the value of the pragma in the
 user's script. This uses C<caller()> to determine the value of