This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
On AIX, avoid a shell pipepline by making makedef.pl sort case insenitively.
authorNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Fri, 25 Nov 2011 17:16:35 +0000 (18:16 +0100)
committerNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Sun, 4 Dec 2011 16:47:00 +0000 (17:47 +0100)
Previously the Makefile piped the output of makedef.pl to sort. This had the
side effect of ignoring the exit code from makedef.pl, as make could only
see the exit code of the last command in the pipeline. This concealed the
causes of the parallel make failure when makedef.pl was missing a dependency
on Config.pm

Makefile.SH
makedef.pl

index 37acd12..7b050fa 100755 (executable)
@@ -724,7 +724,7 @@ PERLEXPORT          = perl.exp
        esac
        $spitshell >>$Makefile <<'!NO!SUBS!'
 perl.exp: $(MINIPERLEXP) makedef.pl $(CONFIGPM) $(SYM) $(SYMH)
-       ./$(MINIPERLEXP) makedef.pl PLATFORM=aix CC_FLAGS="$(OPTIMIZE)" | sort -u | sort -f > perl.exp
+       ./$(MINIPERLEXP) makedef.pl --sort-fold PLATFORM=aix CC_FLAGS="$(OPTIMIZE)" > perl.exp
 
 !NO!SUBS!
        ;;
index 8d6148a..0994fd9 100644 (file)
@@ -40,6 +40,8 @@ my %ARGS = (CCTYPE => 'MSVC', TARG_DIR => '');
 
 my %define;
 
+my $fold;
+
 sub process_cc_flags {
     foreach (map {split /\s+/, $_} @_) {
        $define{$1} = $2 // 1 if /^-D(\w+)(?:=(.+))?/;
@@ -52,6 +54,8 @@ while (@ARGV) {
        process_cc_flags($1);
     } elsif ($flag =~ /^(CCTYPE|FILETYPE|PLATFORM|TARG_DIR)=(.+)$/) {
        $ARGS{$1} = $2;
+    } elsif ($flag eq '--sort-fold') {
+       ++$fold;
     }
 }
 
@@ -1347,7 +1351,8 @@ elsif ($ARGS{PLATFORM} eq 'netware') {
 
 # Then the symbols
 
-foreach my $symbol (sort keys %export) {
+my @symbols = $fold ? sort {lc $a cmp lc $b} keys %export : sort keys %export;
+foreach my $symbol (@symbols) {
     if ($ARGS{PLATFORM} =~ /^win(?:32|ce)$/) {
        print "\t$symbol\n";
     }