This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
A fig leaf for calling sv_pos_u2b with IV* where it expects I32*.
authorCraig A. Berry <craigberry@mac.com>
Sat, 16 Jan 2010 22:15:47 +0000 (16:15 -0600)
committerCraig A. Berry <craigberry@mac.com>
Sat, 16 Jan 2010 23:17:50 +0000 (17:17 -0600)
Following v5.11.3-103-gb6d1426, any compiler paying attention
whines about the pointer mismatch (which on VMS breaks the
build).

Zefram reports a further patch in progress:
  Message-ID: <20100116022631.GA10264@fysh.org>

but this gets the warning out of the way so other work can proceed.

pp.c

diff --git a/pp.c b/pp.c
index 4735c94..089401b 100644 (file)
--- a/pp.c
+++ b/pp.c
@@ -3169,8 +3169,11 @@ PP(pp_substr)
     else {
        const IV upos = pos;
        const IV urem = rem;
+       /* FIXME -- if an IV is longer than an I32, we're truncating here,
+         * but a 64-bit version of sv_pos_u2b is not (yet) available.
+         */
        if (utf8_curlen)
-           sv_pos_u2b(sv, &pos, &rem);
+           sv_pos_u2b(sv, (I32 *)&pos, (I32 *)&rem);
        tmps += pos;
        /* we either return a PV or an LV. If the TARG hasn't been used
         * before, or is of that type, reuse it; otherwise use a mortal