This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Document that epoch is always 1970
authorBernhard M. Wiedemann <bwiedemann@suse.de>
Mon, 23 Dec 2019 20:15:03 +0000 (21:15 +0100)
committerJames E Keenan <jkeenan@cpan.org>
Sat, 28 Dec 2019 15:03:23 +0000 (10:03 -0500)
and not meant to be interpreted as 2070 because of rolling century.

Fixes GH issue 16431

Bernhard M. Wiedemann is now a Perl author.

AUTHORS
pod/perlport.pod

diff --git a/AUTHORS b/AUTHORS
index 8be306d..89d0720 100644 (file)
--- a/AUTHORS
+++ b/AUTHORS
@@ -150,6 +150,7 @@ Benjamin Smith                      <bsmith@cabbage.org.uk>
 Benjamin Stuhl                 <sho_pi@hotmail.com>
 Benjamin Sugars                        <bsugars@canoe.ca>
 Bernard Quatermass             <bernard@quatermass.co.uk>
+Bernhard M. Wiedemann                  <bwiedemann@suse.de>
 Bill Campbell                  <bill@celestial.com>
 Bill Glicker                   <billg@burrelles.com>
 Billy Constantine              <wdconsta@cs.adelaide.edu.au>
index 1a3002d..4b6224e 100644 (file)
@@ -670,7 +670,7 @@ When calculating specific times, such as for tests in time or date modules,
 it may be appropriate to calculate an offset for the epoch.
 
     use Time::Local qw(timegm);
-    my $offset = timegm(0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 70);
+    my $offset = timegm(0, 0, 0, 1, 0, 1970);
 
 The value for C<$offset> in Unix will be C<0>, but in Mac OS Classic
 will be some large number.  C<$offset> can then be added to a Unix time