This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
regcomp.c: Remove obsolete code
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Tue, 29 Apr 2014 01:53:39 +0000 (19:53 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Fri, 30 May 2014 16:33:02 +0000 (10:33 -0600)
Commit cd209d9d0a3b8eec779c744b3a98c9101e3f1a21 changed things so that
this code (as its comments suggest) is now obsolete.

regcomp.c

index df56350..a6e1818 100644 (file)
--- a/regcomp.c
+++ b/regcomp.c
@@ -9706,18 +9706,6 @@ S_reg(pTHX_ RExC_state_t *pRExC_state, I32 paren, I32 *flagp,U32 depth)
            case '@':           /* (?@...) */
                vFAIL2("Sequence (?%c...) not implemented", (int)paren);
                break;
-            case '#':           /* (?#...) */
-                /* XXX As soon as we disallow separating the '?' and '*' (by
-                 * spaces or (?#...) comment), it is believed that this case
-                 * will be unreachable and can be removed.  See
-                 * [perl #117327] */
-                while (*RExC_parse && *RExC_parse != ')')
-                   RExC_parse++;
-               if (*RExC_parse != ')')
-                   FAIL("Sequence (?#... not terminated");
-               nextchar(pRExC_state);
-               *flagp = TRYAGAIN;
-               return NULL;
            case '0' :           /* (?0) */
            case 'R' :           /* (?R) */
                if (*RExC_parse != ')')