This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
The AIX doubledouble longdouble has been left broken for three years.
authorJarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
Mon, 30 Oct 2017 05:19:18 +0000 (07:19 +0200)
committerJarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
Mon, 30 Oct 2017 05:30:00 +0000 (07:30 +0200)
I must have left the test in the wrong position while
working on getting it to work, and never tested it since.
My apologies.

With this simple trick the following failing tests start to work.

        ../cpan/Math-Complex/t/Complex.t
        ../cpan/Math-Complex/t/Trig.t
        ../cpan/Math-Complex/t/underbar.t
        ../cpan/Scalar-List-Utils/t/uniq.t
        ../ext/POSIX/t/math.t
        ../lib/warnings.t
        op/sprintf2.t
        op/time.t

Or rather, the broken part of the functionality, Infinity,
starts being avoided, as it should be.  See the comment above
about the known brokenness of long doubles and infinity in AIX.

Note that even after this fix the following are still broken in
this AIX (the perl5 aix machine), but these are unrelated to infnan:

        ../cpan/ExtUtils-MakeMaker/t/03-xsstatic.t
        ../dist/Storable/t/store.t
        ../ext/XS-APItest/t/handy00.t
        re/uniprops01.t
        re/uniprops02.t
        re/uniprops03.t
        re/uniprops04.t
        re/uniprops05.t
        re/uniprops06.t
        re/uniprops07.t
        re/uniprops08.t
        re/uniprops09.t
        re/uniprops10.t

(as of blead 4faa3060)

hints/aix.sh

index b06e399..7880ed3 100644 (file)
@@ -584,7 +584,7 @@ fi
 # The missing math functions affect the POSIX extension math interfaces.
 
 case "$uselongdouble" in
-'')
+$define)
   echo "Checking if your infinity is working with long doubles..." >&4
   cat > inf$$.c <<EOF
 #include <math.h>