This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Cast parameters to instr, strstr
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sat, 17 Oct 2020 12:00:22 +0000 (06:00 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Mon, 2 Nov 2020 16:35:45 +0000 (09:35 -0700)
This code isn't apparently compiled on modern platforms, as when I tried
to force them to compile, I had to do this.

mathoms.c
util.h

index b490049..19b0154 100644 (file)
--- a/mathoms.c
+++ b/mathoms.c
@@ -1294,7 +1294,7 @@ Perl_instr(const char *big, const char *little)
 {
     PERL_ARGS_ASSERT_INSTR;
 
-    return instr((char *) big, (char *) little);
+    return instr(big, little);
 }
 
 SV *
diff --git a/util.h b/util.h
index 7d06fea..df0c7ad 100644 (file)
--- a/util.h
+++ b/util.h
@@ -248,7 +248,7 @@ returning NULL if not found.  The terminating NUL bytes are not compared.
 */
 
 
-#define instr(haystack, needle) strstr(haystack, needle)
+#define instr(haystack, needle) strstr((char *) haystack, (char *) needle)
 
 #ifdef HAS_MEMMEM
 #   define ninstr(big, bigend, little, lend)                                \