This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perlfunc: clarify docs for 'package' [perl #113974]
authorDavid Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
Fri, 6 Jul 2012 00:01:26 +0000 (20:01 -0400)
committerDavid Golden <dagolden@cpan.org>
Fri, 6 Jul 2012 00:09:24 +0000 (20:09 -0400)
This one word change clarifies that 'package' applies to
'lexically-scoped' variables rather than 'lexical' variables, which
people may misunderstand to mean only my/state declarations and thus be
confused by the nearby statements about it applying to 'our' as well.

No perldelta note was added as the change was trivial.

pod/perlfunc.pod

index 25f8a73..2d73099 100644 (file)
@@ -4979,7 +4979,7 @@ when they're one of the special identifiers that qualify into C<main::>,
 like C<STDOUT>, C<ARGV>, C<ENV>, and the punctuation variables.
 
 A package statement affects dynamic variables only, including those
-you've used C<local> on, but I<not> lexical variables, which are created
+you've used C<local> on, but I<not> lexically-scoped variables, which are created
 with C<my>, C<state>, or C<our>.  Typically it would be the first 
 declaration in a file included by C<require> or C<use>.  You can switch into a
 package in more than one place, since this only determines which default