This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Remove FAQ about PONIE
authorbrian d foy <brian.d.foy@gmail.com>
Sun, 29 May 2011 13:17:42 +0000 (08:17 -0500)
committerbrian d foy <brian.d.foy@gmail.com>
Tue, 14 Jun 2011 10:46:07 +0000 (12:46 +0200)
pod/perlfaq.pod
pod/perlfaq1.pod

index 614ff56..9ca88c8 100644 (file)
@@ -129,10 +129,6 @@ What are Perl 4, Perl 5, or Perl 6?
 
 =item *
 
-What was Ponie?
-
-=item *
-
 What is Perl 6?
 
 =item *
index ba70a82..bea50a0 100644 (file)
@@ -153,21 +153,6 @@ http://rakudo.org ).
 
 See L<perlhist> for a history of Perl revisions.
 
-=head2 What was Ponie?
-
-(contributed by brian d foy)
-
-Ponie stands for "Perl On the New Internal Engine", started by Arthur
-Bergman from Fotango in 2003, and subsequently run as a project of The
-Perl Foundation. It was abandoned in 2006
-( http://www.nntp.perl.org/group/perl.ponie.dev/487 ).
-
-Instead of using the current Perl internals, Ponie aimed to create a
-new one that would provide a translation path from Perl 5 to Perl 6
-(or anything else that targets Parrot, actually). You would have been
-able to just keep using Perl 5 with Parrot, the virtual machine which
-will compile and run Perl 6 bytecode.
-
 =head2 What is Perl 6?
 
 At The Second O'Reilly Open Source Software Convention, Larry Wall