This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Remove perlsh, which is neither installed nor referenced anywhere.
authorNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Mon, 18 Mar 2013 13:35:21 +0000 (14:35 +0100)
committerNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Mon, 20 May 2013 15:21:06 +0000 (17:21 +0200)
Described as a "poor man's perl shell", it is unreferenced, and virtually
unchanged since its addition in perl 2. As it is never installed, it's not
used by anyone.

MANIFEST
perlsh [deleted file]

index 232bbd2..90b5042 100644 (file)
--- a/MANIFEST
+++ b/MANIFEST
@@ -4439,7 +4439,6 @@ perliol.h                 PerlIO Layer definition
 perlio.sym                     Symbols for PerlIO abstraction
 perlsdio.h                     Fake stdio using perlio
 perlsfio.h                     Prototype sfio mapping for PerlIO
-perlsh                         A poor man's perl shell
 perlvars.h                     Global variables
 perly.act                      parser actions; derived from perly.y
 perly.c                                parser code (NOT derived from perly.y)
diff --git a/perlsh b/perlsh
deleted file mode 100644 (file)
index 63662d6..0000000
--- a/perlsh
+++ /dev/null
@@ -1,15 +0,0 @@
-#!/usr/bin/perl
-
-# Poor man's perl shell.
-
-# Simply type two carriage returns every time you want to evaluate.
-# Note that it must be a complete perl statement--don't type double
-#  carriage return in the middle of a loop.
-
-$/ = "\n\n";   # set paragraph mode
-$SHlinesep = "\n";
-while (defined($SHcmd = <>)) {
-    $/ = $SHlinesep;
-    eval $SHcmd; print $@ || "\n";
-    $SHlinesep = $/; $/ = '';
-}