This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
t/re/pat_advanced.t: Remove a 'use encoding'
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Wed, 18 Jun 2014 01:02:05 +0000 (19:02 -0600)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Wed, 18 Jun 2014 01:09:14 +0000 (19:09 -0600)
'use encoding "latin1"' has the effect of causing \x80 - \xFF to be
treated as Unicode characters in a regular expression, which is the same
thing as the /u modifier does.  The pragma may eventually be removed, so
replace it by the more modern way to get the same effect

t/re/pat_advanced.t

index 302d90a..75c5744 100644 (file)
@@ -1873,9 +1873,7 @@ EOP
           'IsPunct disagrees with [:punct:] outside ASCII');
 
         my @isPunctLatin1 = eval q {
-            no warnings 'deprecated';
-            use encoding 'latin1';
-            grep {/[[:punct:]]/ != /\p{IsPunct}/} map {chr} 0x80 .. 0xff;
+            grep {/[[:punct:]]/u != /\p{IsPunct}/} map {chr} 0x80 .. 0xff;
         };
         skip "Eval failed ($@)", 1 if $@;
         skip "PERL_LEGACY_UNICODE_CHARCLASS_MAPPINGS set to 0", 1