This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Revert "sv_grow: performance improvement for short strings"
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Mon, 1 Sep 2014 15:23:00 +0000 (08:23 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Mon, 1 Sep 2014 16:29:39 +0000 (09:29 -0700)
This reverts commit 880c169bb2bd5e6e9ae996842d6860bf88d28585.

sv.c

diff --git a/sv.c b/sv.c
index 7d4c964..98836f1 100644 (file)
--- a/sv.c
+++ b/sv.c
@@ -1544,7 +1544,7 @@ Perl_sv_grow(pTHX_ SV *const sv, STRLEN newlen)
 
 #ifdef PERL_NEW_COPY_ON_WRITE
     /* the new COW scheme uses SvPVX(sv)[SvLEN(sv)-1] (if spare)
-     * to store the CowREFCNT. So in general, allocate one more byte than
+     * to store the COW count. So in general, allocate one more byte than
      * asked for, to make it likely this byte is always spare: and thus
      * make more strings COW-able.
      * If the new size is a big power of two, don't bother: we assume the
@@ -1560,7 +1560,7 @@ Perl_sv_grow(pTHX_ SV *const sv, STRLEN newlen)
 
     if (newlen > SvLEN(sv)) {          /* need more room? */
        STRLEN minlen = SvCUR(sv);
-       minlen += (minlen >> PERL_STRLEN_EXPAND_SHIFT) + 2;
+       minlen += (minlen >> PERL_STRLEN_EXPAND_SHIFT) + 10;
        if (newlen < minlen)
            newlen = minlen;
 #ifndef PERL_UNWARANTED_CHUMMINESS_WITH_MALLOC