This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
[perl #117727] Document B::PADLIST
authorFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Fri, 5 Jul 2013 20:24:12 +0000 (13:24 -0700)
committerFather Chrysostomos <sprout@cpan.org>
Fri, 5 Jul 2013 22:52:12 +0000 (15:52 -0700)
I neglected this when I added that class in perl 5.17.4

ext/B/B.pm

index a998463..8b13dea 100644 (file)
@@ -428,7 +428,9 @@ Returns the AV object (i.e. in class B::AV) representing END blocks.
 
 =item comppadlist
 
 
 =item comppadlist
 
-Returns the AV object (i.e. in class B::AV) of the global comppadlist.
+Returns the PADLIST object (i.e. in class B::PADLIST) of the global
+comppadlist.  In Perl 5.16 and earlier it returns an AV object (class
+B::AV).
 
 =item regex_padav
 
 
 =item regex_padav
 
@@ -1000,6 +1002,9 @@ in with the main SV flags, so this method is no longer present.
 
 =item PADLIST
 
 
 =item PADLIST
 
+Returns a B::PADLIST object under Perl 5.18 or higher, or a B::AV in
+earlier versions.
+
 =item OUTSIDE
 
 =item OUTSIDE_SEQ
 =item OUTSIDE
 
 =item OUTSIDE_SEQ
@@ -1235,6 +1240,30 @@ Since perl 5.17.1
 
 =back
 
 
 =back
 
+=head2 OTHER CLASSES
+
+Perl 5.18 introduces a new class, B::PADLIST, returned by B::CV's
+C<PADLIST> method.
+
+=head2 B::PADLIST Methods
+
+=over 4
+
+=item MAX
+
+=item ARRAY
+
+A list of pads.  The first one contains the names.  These are currently
+B::AV objects, but that is likely to change in future versions.
+
+=item ARRAYelt
+
+Like C<ARRAY>, but takes an index as an argument to get only one element,
+rather than a list of all of them.
+
+=item REFCNT
+
+=back
 
 =head2 $B::overlay
 
 
 =head2 $B::overlay