This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
clarify how to enable -DPERL_USE_SAFE_PUTENV
authorLars Dɪᴇᴄᴋᴏᴡ 迪拉斯 <daxim@cpan.org>
Wed, 21 Jul 2010 08:53:50 +0000 (10:53 +0200)
committerFlorian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
Mon, 26 Jul 2010 10:47:25 +0000 (12:47 +0200)
INSTALL

diff --git a/INSTALL b/INSTALL
index 337b447..039e26b 100644 (file)
--- a/INSTALL
+++ b/INSTALL
@@ -500,9 +500,10 @@ to avoid these leaks. The default is now to perform direct manipulation
 whenever perl is running as a stand alone interpreter, and to call the safe
 but potentially leaky C<putenv()> function when the perl interpreter is
 embedded in another application. You can force perl to always use C<putenv()>
-by compiling with -DPERL_USE_SAFE_PUTENV. You can force an embedded perl to
-use direct manipulation by setting C<PL_use_safe_putenv = 0;> after the
-C<perl_construct()> call.
+by compiling with C<-Accflags="-DPERL_USE_SAFE_PUTENV">, see section
+L</"Altering Configure variables for C compiler switches etc.">.
+You can force an embedded perl to use direct manipulation by setting
+C<PL_use_safe_putenv = 0;> after the C<perl_construct()> call.
 
 =head2 Installation Directories