This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Multiple commits in Super Quick Patch Guide
authorSmylers <Smylers@stripey.com>
Wed, 4 Sep 2013 11:37:36 +0000 (12:37 +0100)
committerJames E Keenan <jkeenan@cpan.org>
Thu, 5 Sep 2013 01:29:50 +0000 (03:29 +0200)
How to use perlbug when a change is a series of commits, not a single
commit.

This is the advice RJBS gave me over IRC. Including it in the guide should
avoid him having to repeat the advice to others.

Committer: Added single quotes around one keyboard command.

For: RT #119599

pod/perlhack.pod

index b2cbcf1..da9d0a3 100644 (file)
@@ -75,6 +75,23 @@ The perlbug program will ask you a few questions about your email
 address and the patch you're submitting.  Once you've answered them it
 will submit your patch via email.
 
 address and the patch you're submitting.  Once you've answered them it
 will submit your patch via email.
 
+If your changes are in multiple commits, generate a patch for each of
+them:
+
+  % git format-patch origin/blead --attach
+
+Run perlbug without any attachments:
+
+  % ./perl -Ilib utils/perlbug
+
+Follow the prompts, picking a subject that summarizes your changes
+overall and has "[PATCH]" at the beginning. Describe your changes in the
+editor window that opens.  Instead of sending the report, press 'f' to
+save the message to a file, then quit.
+
+Now create an email using the headers and body from the
+perlbug-generated file, and attach your patches.
+
 =item * Thank you
 
 The porters appreciate the time you spent helping to make Perl better.
 =item * Thank you
 
 The porters appreciate the time you spent helping to make Perl better.