This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perldelta: perldelta for previous commit
authorKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sat, 16 Feb 2019 19:14:27 +0000 (12:14 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <khw@cpan.org>
Sat, 16 Feb 2019 19:15:33 +0000 (12:15 -0700)
pod/perldelta.pod

index 346d917..2ef4f09 100644 (file)
@@ -279,7 +279,10 @@ well.
 
 =item *
 
-XXX
+It is now forbidden to malloc more than C<PTRDIFF_T_MAX> bytes.  Much
+code (including C optimizers) assumes that all data structures will not
+be larger than this, so this catches such attempts before overflow
+happens.
 
 =back