This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perldelta: Note is_utf8_char_buf() and is_utf8_char()
authorKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Sat, 11 Feb 2012 21:54:24 +0000 (14:54 -0700)
committerKarl Williamson <public@khwilliamson.com>
Sat, 11 Feb 2012 21:55:34 +0000 (14:55 -0700)
pod/perldelta.pod

index 862ba21..fb4166b 100644 (file)
@@ -130,6 +130,12 @@ and ZWNBSP for ZERO WIDTH NO-BREAK SPACE.
 More details on this version of Unicode are provided in
 L<http://www.unicode.org/versions/Unicode6.1.0/>.
 
+=head2 Added C<is_utf8_char_buf()>
+
+This function is designed to replace the deprecated L</is_utf8_char()>
+function.  It includes an extra parameter to make sure it doesn't read
+past the end of the input buffer.
+
 =head1 Security
 
 XXX Any security-related notices go here.  In particular, any security
@@ -138,6 +144,13 @@ L</Selected Bug Fixes> section.
 
 [ List each security issue as a =head2 entry ]
 
+=head2 Use C<is_utf8_char_buf()> and not C<is_utf8_char()>
+
+The latter function is now deprecated because its API is insufficient to
+guarantee that it doesn't read (up to 12 bytes in the worst case) beyond
+the end of its input string.  See
+L<is_utf8_char_buf()|/Added is_utf8_char_buf()>.
+
 =head1 Incompatible Changes
 
 XXX For a release on a stable branch, this section aspires to be:
@@ -190,6 +203,12 @@ listed as an updated module in the L</Modules and Pragmata> section.
 
 [ List each deprecation as a =head2 entry ]
 
+=head2 C<is_utf8_char()>
+
+This function is deprecated because it could read beyond the end of the
+input string.  Use the new L<is_utf8_char_buf()|/Added is_utf8_char_buf()>
+instead.
+
 =head1 Performance Enhancements
 
 XXX Changes which enhance performance without changing behaviour go here. There