This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
Eliminate the Makefile targets test_notty.valgrind and test_prep.valgrind.
authorNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Thu, 11 Jul 2013 09:00:54 +0000 (11:00 +0200)
committerNicholas Clark <nick@ccl4.org>
Fri, 12 Jul 2013 08:54:41 +0000 (10:54 +0200)
The target test_notty.valgrind depends on the target test_prep.valgrind.
The target test_prep.valgrind depends on the target perl.valgrind.
The target perl.valgrind does not exist!

perl.valgrind never existed. The targets which depend on it were added as
part of commit 7a834142adbc51cc (Aug 2003), which added code and
documentation for running the test suite with valgrind. However, that commit
did not add a perl.valgrind target, despite adding dependencies on it. Hence
the various targets which depended on it could never have worked. Of the
4 similar targets, only test.valgrind works because unlike the other 3,
it depends on test_prep, not test_prep.valgrind

Makefile.SH

index ab0d48b..89a03cf 100755 (executable)
@@ -1375,13 +1375,8 @@ linux*|darwin*)
        $spitshell >>$Makefile <<'!NO!SUBS!'
 # Targets for valgrind testing:
 
-test_prep.valgrind: test_prep perl.valgrind
-
 test.valgrind check.valgrind:  test_prep perl.valgrind.config
        PERL_VALGRIND=1 VALGRIND='$(VALGRIND)' $(RUN_TESTS) choose
-
-test_notty.valgrind: test_prep.valgrind perl.valgrind.config
-       PERL_VALGRIND=1 $(RUN_TESTS) no-tty
 !NO!SUBS!
        ;;
 esac