This is a live mirror of the Perl 5 development currently hosted at https://github.com/perl/perl5
perldelta for hexadecimal floats.
authorJarkko Hietaniemi <jhi@iki.fi>
Wed, 20 Aug 2014 13:45:50 +0000 (09:45 -0400)
committerPeter Martini <PeterCMartini@GMail.com>
Wed, 20 Aug 2014 20:13:58 +0000 (16:13 -0400)
pod/perldelta.pod

index 58a21ae..9467081 100644 (file)
@@ -21,8 +21,12 @@ to not die if the argument is assigning to an array.
 
 =head2 Floating point handling and parsing has been improved
 
-A number of area in the core that handle the parsing and printing
-of floating point values have been improved.
+Parsing and printing of floating point values has been improved.
+XXX what in addition to hexadecimal floats? if nothing, change the head2.
+
+As a completely new feature, hexadecimal floating point literals
+(like 0x1.23p-4)  are now supported, and they can be output with
+C<printf %a>.
 
 =head1 Security